Sourced review · Verified August 24, 2026

Aqua Voice review
cloud tools and privacy

Aqua Voice offers cloud dictation with screen-context awareness and a $96 annual Pro plan. Realtime Mode requires Max, and Privacy Mode's transcript controls do not turn transcription into an on-device workflow.

WhisperJot is our product. Facts about Aqua Voice come from Aqua Voice, Inc.'s public pages and were last verified on the date shown.

This is a review of published product information, not a hands-on test or an independent security audit.

Best for: Screen-aware cloud dictation

Strengths

What it does well

  • Screen-context awareness uses visible content to inform dictation output, providing context for people working in an existing document or application.

  • Pro includes unlimited words, custom instructions, and an expanded dictionary for $96 annually, slightly below WhisperJot's $99 annual price.

  • Apps support macOS on Intel and Apple Silicon, Windows, and iOS, while eligible students can receive a 70% Pro or Max discount.

Limitations

Where it falls short

  • Realtime Mode is reserved for Max at $288 annually or $30 monthly; it is not included with Starter or Pro.

  • The Avalon model performs transcription in the cloud, and the checked Aqua Voice site does not advertise an offline mode.

  • Privacy Mode still permits session metadata collection, and its default is not stated in the checked policy; zero data retention is a Business feature.

Data handling

Privacy check

Where audio is processed

Aqua Voice uses its Avalon model to transcribe speech in the cloud rather than on-device.

Transcript collection

Privacy Mode prevents transcript collection when enabled, but Aqua may store transcripts to improve the product when it is disabled.

Metadata and defaults

Session metadata is still collected with Privacy Mode enabled, and the checked policy does not establish the mode's default.

Fit

Who should pick it

Choose Aqua Voice if screen-context awareness and cloud writing tools matter more to you than offline operation. Compare Pro with Max carefully if seeing transcription in real time is part of your workflow.

Our product

How WhisperJot compares

WhisperJot is private by default, with Jot Local and Jot Local Pro processing speech on-device. Local engines work fully offline after the first model download. WhisperJot Local ($5/month) and WhisperJot Pro ($99/year) both include unlimited local dictation, custom vocabulary, voice commands, and local history on stable Mac and Windows apps plus a Linux beta. Jot Cloud is our optional cloud engine on WhisperJot Pro: it is opt-in, runs only while selected, and audio is never stored on our servers. WhisperJot has no free tier; the browser demo offers a short dictation before purchase.

Compare WhisperJot with Aqua Voice →

Questions

Aqua Voice FAQ

Is Aqua Voice private?

Aqua Voice transcribes in the cloud using Avalon. Enabling Privacy Mode prevents transcript collection but leaves session metadata collection in place; disabling it allows transcript storage for product improvement. The checked policy does not specify the mode's default, and zero data retention is a Business feature. Check Aqua's privacy policy for the controls relevant to your plan.

Is Aqua Voice cheaper than WhisperJot?

Aqua Voice Pro is slightly cheaper than WhisperJot Pro when billed annually: $96 per year compared with $99. Aqua Pro includes unlimited words, custom instructions, and an expanded dictionary. Aqua's Realtime Mode requires Max at $288 per year, while WhisperJot includes live partial results on Local ($5/month) and Pro ($99/year).

Does Aqua Voice store transcripts?

It depends on the user-controlled Privacy Mode. When that mode is disabled, Aqua says it may securely store transcript data on its servers to improve the product. When enabled, transcript data is not collected, although session metadata still is. Aqua does not state which mode is the default in the cited privacy policy.

References

Sources

Product facts last verified August 24, 2026. Sources include the vendor pages and any supporting references listed below.