Sourced review · Verified August 24, 2026

Dragon Professional v16 review
offline windows tools

Dragon Professional v16 combines local Windows dictation with detailed commands, macros, and correction tools. Its perpetual license suits buyers who prefer a one-time purchase, but the upfront reseller price starts at $699.99.

WhisperJot is our product. Facts about Dragon Professional v16 come from Nuance Communications, a Microsoft company's public pages and were last verified on the date shown.

This is a review of published product information, not a hands-on test or an independent security audit.

Best for: Windows voice commands and correction

Strengths

What it does well

  • Desktop v16 recognizes speech locally on the PC and works offline, keeping everyday recognition independent of an active internet connection.

  • Custom voice commands, macros, and a deep correction workflow support people who want detailed voice control within Windows applications.

  • A perpetual license offers a one-time purchase model, and the Auto Transcribe Folder Agent adds a transcription tool alongside application dictation.

Limitations

Where it falls short

  • Professional v16 is Windows-only, optimized for Windows 11 and compatible with Windows 10; it does not offer Mac or Linux apps.

  • Authorized reseller pricing starts at $699.99 upfront, and Nuance does not publish direct pricing, so buyers need to check reseller terms.

  • There is no free version, and trial mode permits five launches before activation; download, activation, and updates still use internet access.

Data handling

Privacy check

Where audio is processed

Dragon Professional v16 performs speech recognition locally on the Windows PC, with offline desktop recognition.

Product scope

Related Dragon Professional Anywhere and Dragon Medical One products are cloud-hosted, so v16's local-processing description does not apply to them.

Retention and training

Not stated on the vendor pages we checked; see their privacy policy.

Fit

Who should pick it

Choose Dragon Professional v16 if detailed Windows commands and correction tools justify a larger upfront purchase. Its perpetual license can suit users who prefer that payment model to an annual subscription.

Our product

How WhisperJot compares

WhisperJot is private by default, with Jot Local and Jot Local Pro processing speech on-device. Local engines work fully offline after the first model download. WhisperJot Local ($5/month) and WhisperJot Pro ($99/year) both include unlimited local dictation, custom vocabulary, voice commands, and local history on stable Mac and Windows apps plus a Linux beta. Jot Cloud is our optional cloud engine on WhisperJot Pro: it is opt-in, runs only while selected, and audio is never stored on our servers. WhisperJot has no free tier; the browser demo offers a short dictation before purchase.

Compare WhisperJot with Dragon Professional v16 →

Questions

Dragon Professional v16 FAQ

Is Dragon Professional v16 private?

Dragon Professional v16 recognizes speech locally on a Windows PC, including offline desktop use. That scope excludes the related cloud-hosted Dragon Professional Anywhere and Dragon Medical One products. Retention and training details are not stated in the pages checked for this review; check the privacy policy applicable to your Dragon edition for those terms.

Does Dragon Professional v16 work offline?

Yes. Dragon Professional v16 runs speech recognition locally on a Windows PC, so dictation works offline. Internet access is used for downloading, activating, and updating the software. This applies to desktop v16; related products called Dragon Professional Anywhere and Dragon Medical One are cloud-hosted offerings.

Does Dragon have a free trial or free version?

Dragon Professional v16 has no free version. Before activation, the software allows five launches in trial mode. WhisperJot also has no free tier, but it offers a 30-second browser demo so you can try a short dictation before choosing the $99-per-year desktop plan.

References

Sources

Product facts last verified August 24, 2026. Sources include the vendor pages and any supporting references listed below.